Mother of the Year, Reason 1

I’m posting this because I want other moms to know that they are not alone.

I am embarrassed and disappointed in myself, but it ended well:

Typical Monday morning.  Getting ready for work.  I let baby girl sleep in a bit since she wasn’t feel good this past weekend (super congested and coughing – no fever, though!)

Got everything ready to go, bags by the door, felt pretty proud of myself, etc.

Kenzie woke up and I fed her, changed her, and then got her changed and ready to go (bow included).  Got her set up in her car seat and gave her some toys to keep her happy while I tried to get the dog in.  Of course, it was pretty nice out this morning, and he didn’t want to come in.  So I had to bribe him, as per usual.

By this point, it was 8:30.  I start work at 9.  We were certainly cutting it close, but nothing new there.

Got the dog in, and then grabbed baby girl and headed out to the garage.

So we’re driving along, driving along….::cue Chris Farley::

She’s pretty happy hanging out in the back.  I hear her toys go flying as she gets bored with them.  She’s annoyed when the sun gets into her eyes.   She yells and waits for me to yell back for fun, and the cycle goes on.

We get to her babysitter’s house, and I check her bag to make sure all of her food, etc is in there for the day.  Then I grab her car seat out and head in.  I put her down and go to unclip her, and realize…I NEVER LOCKED HER IN.  Just put her into the seat, gave her toys, and forgot that I never locked in her straps.  SO DUMB.  I was visibly shaken.  Her babysitter was so nice about it.  She said, “You’re not the first mom to have done that, and you certainly won’t be the last.  She is fine, try not to worry”

Then I realize that I didn’t even bring her bag in.  When did I become so distracted and loopy?  Being a mom has turned me into a complete moron.  My intelligence continues to fly out the window day after day.

Granted, I know I am getting baby girl’s cold now.  I’m low on sleep because I wanted to make sure she was breathing okay in the middle of the night, since she has been fighting this cold.  And none of those things are valid excuses.  I am just so thankful that nothing happened.  Our guardian angels were certainly looking out for us this morning.

You’ll notice that I numbered this post as “number 1” – I’m assuming there will be many more dumb things for me to add to my Mom of the Year list in the future.  This isn’t even really number 1, but I thought I would start documenting here.

I guarantee I will not make the same mistake tomorrow.  I’ll probably make another one, instead.  Live and learn, right?

 

Leave a Reply

