“If You Can Poop, You Can Give Birth”

Caffeine11

32 Weeks & 3 Days – She is the size of a Florida Pomelo (wtf is a Pomelo?) and almost has hands large enough to use my cell phone.  Too bad she won’t get a cell phone until she’s 18!  🙂

But for real.  I am excited, but I think I am entering into the stage of pregnancy where insomnia is prevalent (and heartburn!), and you can’t stop thinking about just how much your life is going to change.  And where you’re going to store all things baby.  And how you’re going to set up the baby’s room.

Of all the blogs I’ve read, most of the first time moms seem so fake to me.  Maybe because there is something wrong with me.  Not that I am at all unhappy about baby girl, but it has been a very trying time for me.  It’s difficult for me to read all the fluffy, “we can’t wait until she gets here, it is in God’s hands now, God is so good, everything is coming up roses, this is the best time of our lives!”  I’ll just chalk it up to the fact that I’m nervous.  I’m sure once she is born, our lives will change, but for the better.

At my last doctor’s appointment, I expressed my concern for my lack of being in shape during this pregnancy.  I told her about how I keep reading about how you have to get your body in shape for labor, and it’s like training for a marathon.  She put my fears at ease.  She laughed and said, “Those ideas are so wrong.  If you can poop, you can give birth!”   She also brought up how women years ago were basically told to have nothing to do with anything that would cause physical exertion.  They have all gotten through it just fine.  So I feel better about the whole process now, I guess.  Until the labor pains start, that is!

Mike and I went on a tour of the maternity ward where I will be delivering baby girl this past weekend.  He was shocked how many people signed up for the tour (there were 25 couples).  One girl was two weeks from her due date and looked exactly like me, in terms of how big her tummy was.  WTF?

Anyhow, it was super informative.  There were two women who explained the process while we all sat in the lobby of the hospital waiting area.  They explained where to go when you first arrive if you are in labor, and they included the insurance form in our little gift bags to fill out ahead of time so that no one is bothering anyone for forms while things are intense and stressful.  They also explained the in-room spa service menu (YES!), and more importantly, which restaurants will deliver to the hospital.  She also explained that they just started making the Amniotic Bank available to their patients, at no charge.  I kept reading about the cord banking and thought it was a great concept, until I saw that they charge thousands of dollars to store this each year, and that doesn’t even mean that what you bank will actually match and be of any help to you down the line with a specific illness.  No thanks!  I will, however, likely donate to the Amniotic Bank.  If it will benefit others and possibly my family in the future and cause no extra pain in the process, I am all for it 🙂  Here is a better explanation of Amniotic Banking:  http://www.healthywomen.org/content/article/should-you-bank-your-babys-amniotic-fluid

The labor and delivery ward was very nice and modern.  You can even see the Chicago Skyline from their fancy visitors’ lounge.  Each labor/ delivery room is quite large with a massive walk-in shower with bench (brand new) in the event that you want to sit under the water while in labor (it’s supposed to help some ladies, from what I’ve heard!).  They also have wireless fetal monitoring, which many hospitals do no have yet –  meaning you aren’t hooked up to a bunch of cords and they can still monitor baby’s heart rate from the nurse station.  The wireless monitor strapped on you is also waterproof, so you can basically sit in the shower until it’s go-time and they can monitor as needed.  SO COOL.  I’d imagine they would never run out of hot water, right?  Hahaha.  Someone also asked about a mirror that was on the ceiling and whether or not if could come down so that you could see the baby’s entrance into the world.  She grabbed a remote and showed up how the mirror could be angled so that you could see baby as she is born.  I turned to Mike and said, “Um, I won’t be using that, and I don’t want you seeing all of that business either”  He seemed to agree.

After we viewed the labor/ delivery suites, we went down to the mother/ baby suites (you stay there at least two days after delivery for monitoring).  We also walked by the nursery, where most people think all of the babies hang out in front of the glass window.  Not the case anymore!  Baby hangs out in your room with you unless you need a break or they are giving baby her first bath (which doesn’t happen for 24 hours after she is born – new thing!)   So I kind of like that.  Especially if you are trying the whole breastfeeding thing.  Baby is always there, and you don’t have to wonder about who is going to go get her for a feeding, etc.  Interesting stuff!

Our birthing class is in April, so stay tuned for that!  Eight hours of fun!  Mike is ecstatic.

I also finally had my first prenatal massage last night.  IT WAS AMAZING.  I was worried that it might not feel that great because I get uncomfortable so easily these days, but it was just wonderful.  My back feels 100 times better today.  Baby girl moved and kicked the whole time, so she must have enjoyed it 🙂  I scheduled another one for week 38, along with a pedicure (gotta keep those toes pretty for D-day), and a bikini wax (gotta keep the pain threshold up!)  🙂

::pause for entertainment purposes::

Breastfeeding Facebook Group Post (I am slowly learning the acronyms…EBF = Exclusively Breastfeeding, DD = Dear Daughter):

“6mo EBF and still going strong! But I have a question. DD’s two front bottom teeth cut through a few weeks ago, and the past 3 days, she has been biting down on my nipple randomly while feeding. She cries when I rip my boob out of her mouth in surprise! Yes, I know I shouldn’t do that, but that’s what happens anyways. So, this afternoon rolls around, and my right breast is completely engorged and I’m feeling rock hard nodules along the side and around the areola. Could her biting have something to do with that? Could it be a clogged duct? She’s been napping for over 2 hours now, and I haven’t been this engorged in months.”

WWMD (What Would Melissa Do):  At this point, I would put a brief stop (at least) to BF.  I don’t know what sounds worse, DD biting down on nipples or complete engorgement.  But yes, I believe these would be signs to point me towards beginning the weaning process and get started on some…wait for it…formula!!!

Eight weeks to go!

Just splurged a little on this fancy little number for baby girl:

polka dot splurge

Leave a Reply

