29 weeks, 3 days – Bébé is Size of a Hawaiian Pineapple- Glucose Test – Breastfeeding Frenzy

So, pineapples are pretty huge, right?!  And so am I.  Still two long months to go.  Meh. For some strange reason, I feel really good today.  I know, I probably just jinxed it.  {oh and I did!  I started this draft on monday, and now it is tuesday.  let me just tell you.  tuesday fucking blows. Wednesday also sucks. pregnancy is going to be the death of me}  It’s amazing how you can have a good day, followed by a day where you can’t even get out the door because you feel like you’re going to pass out.  I can only hope that the good days will outweigh the bad in these last two months.

Now for the good news!  I had a doctor’s appointment last Monday.  Now I get to go every two weeks, since we are in the third trimester.  If it gets me out of work early, I am on board.

Turns out, I actually PASSED my glucose test!!   The phlebotomist, while very kind, was incorrect in reading her numbers.  I was thrilled beyond belief!  So no three-hour test for me!   She even told me that my iron levels were fine.  Although they were a bit low, that is completely normal.  She said if anything, I would go on iron supplements AFTER baby girl is born.

I then went on to ask her my list of questions, including “What are my delivery options, if any?”  “Will you be here when I deliver if you aren’t on schedule for that day?”  Because I had heard from a few different friends that there is a pretty good chance that your doctor won’t even be there for delivery if she isn’t on call that day.  I hate the idea of that, but I didn’t want to be caught by surprise “Father of the Bride II” style when some 16 year old comes in wanting to deliver my baby girl.

I was hoping she would tell me that my pelvis is too small, and that she would feel best scheduling a c-section.  I hear of so many doctors wanting to schedule deliveries, just for convenience.  I always thought I would be so against that, but now that I am scared out of my mind, I have decided that I would be okay with any kind of scheduling and even a c-section, which is done so often.  No sitting in labor for 36 hours, waiting on dilation, possible drugs wearing off…  But her answer surprised me.  She said our obvious hope is for a vaginal delivery.  FUCK.  So basically no planning, could go into labor at any time, and it could end up that my pelvis is INDEED too small for baby girl to get through, but that will be determined after I’ve been in labor for awhile and it has stalled.  THEN they could move forward with a c-section.  ISN’T THAT GREAT?!   And if my labor doesn’t progress as quickly as they’d like and I am not dilating fast enough, then they will give me Pitocin to strengthen labor, which I have also heard horror stories about.  Basically, I am terrified.  And on top of all that, I feel as though my body is in no shape to go through 36 hours of labor.  I can barely walk up a flight of stairs without getting lightheaded.  And I know that I should be trying to “train” for this, but my body just can’t take it.   So at the end of delivery, I will just collapse and sleep for a month.  Right?  Right.

At what I thought was the end of my appointment, my doctor said, “Okay!  So now you’ll get your RH status shot and you’ll be good to go!”  I responded with, “Like, today?”   Oh yes.  I was getting a shot.  NOT IN THE ARM, EITHER.  Not all women need them, as it turns out.  Of course, I am in the percentage that would require such a thing.  Turns out, if your blood type is negative (I have A negative blood), there is a chance that baby’s blood could be positive.  There is no way to know for sure unless we did amniocentesis (giant needle in the stomach = no fucking way).  This is fine with baby number one, but if we were to go on and have baby number two and baby ended up having a positive blood type, my blood would try to fight it off, thus possibly resulting in a miscarriage.  So they give you the shot at 28 weeks, and then again after you deliver.  Then I will be covered and they won’t try to attack baby 2’s blood.   Let’s not even discuss if there will be a baby number 2.  Save that for another day….

I also asked her about breastfeeding, and the possibility of renting an automatic pump from the hospital.  She was very clear that I should wait on all of that, since you never really know if breastfeeding is going to work out with you and your baby.  That being said, one of my new-mom friends invited me to join this “Breastfeed Chicago” Facebook group, where you can talk about your struggles of breastfeeding and such.  I was very appreciative of this, since I intend to breastfeed, if it works out.

Joining this group ahead of time was a bad idea for two reasons.

(1)  “I think my breasts are engorged!  See pics in the comments!”   I understand that this is a forum for mums who are trying to breastfeed, and things aren’t always cheery and happy.  But I have seen far too many of these “My nipples are cracked and bleeding!” posts/ photos.  It is enough to deter me from breastfeeding altogether!  Again, I’m sure there are plenty of mums out there who don’t post anything because everything is working out just as it should.  I’m just saying, it would be nice to see a “everything is going so well and I’m not in pain at all” post!   A little encouragement never hurt.

(2)  These ladies fucking HATE formula.  If someone posts something even remotely in favor of formula feeding, if only for a supplement and needing some advice on how to wean, numerous mums will go off on her in the comments saying things like, “breast is best!  don’t do it!”  making you feel like a loser and a bad mom if you would even consider formula feeding.  I don’t like that.  You never know how things are going to work out, and if formula is the only thing your baby will drink, then formula is what you will nourish them with!  COME ON!  They also think you should never wean your baby off the breast.  Breastfeed until your kid is 5 years old, if that is what they want!  Yeah, because THAT’S not creepy.

That’s all for now – stay tuned for upcoming posts on my back/ rib pain and possibly going to a chiropractor (thoughts?!), a baklava recipe that is out of this world, and my thoughts on essential oils that have taken the nation by storm 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness, those shoes are adorable!

    I’m glad you passed your glucose test! A 3-hour version of that sounded miserable.

    I feel like I’m always telling you about various blogs, but that’s what I’ve been reading for years, lol. The one I’m thinking of now is Bower Power (bowerpowerblog.com). She had a really tough time breastfeeding her first kid and wrote about it, and then after she had more kids, she wrote about those experiences.

    Aaaaand if you hate essential oils, please be gentle? Lol. I’m not a guru, but I’m having a really good experience with them. And if you do hate them, I’ll try not to take it personally because it obviously isn’t a personal attack, I just know it can be a polarizing topic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

