25 weeks, 5 days – Bébé is Size of a Napa Cabbage – and the Parenthood series finale…

Moving right along.  25 weeks.  I can’t believe I am almost into the third trimester!  Still doing good on the anti-nausea front.  Not going to say too much because I don’t want to jinx it.

I was pretty motivated yesterday, and scheduled a whole slew of things!  I scheduled a tour of the birthing ward at the hospital we will be delivering at.  They just renovated everything in the past year, and everything is state-of-the-art.  I’m pretty excited to check it out.  Even better, I learned that they offer in-room spa services!  WHAT?!  Oh yes, you can schedule a manicure or pedicure during your stay!  I told Mike and his response was, “Sounds like this is going to be an expensive trip”….hahaha, no kidding.  Expensive trip, expensive kid…goodbye vacations and nice Anthropologie clothes for mama.

I also scheduled us for an accelerated birthing class.  It is on a Saturday from 9 until 5.  I told Mike this and his response was, “WHAT?  8 hours?!”  He was partly joking.  I am not a fan of sitting somewhere for 8 hours, either.  But it was either that or three weeks of Tuesday/ Wednesday night classes, and we would never make the class in time since it is at a different location.  They will let us leave for lunch, at least.  And the lady told me to dress comfortably and to bring 4 large pillows.  Can’t wait!  🙂    As long as I don’t have to sit in a chair for 8 hours, I will be okay.  Just lay me out on the floor, and I will pay attention.

And finally, I scheduled the glucose test ::cringe:: for next Saturday.  Fingers crossed I don’t vomit and they let me take my time drinking it, and I can drink it in peace.  I have to be there at 7 a.m., so I’m going to ask if they have a room with a bed after I drink the sugar drink, hahaha!   I told Mike he didn’t have to join me for this appointment, since I will have to sit there for an hour or two before they can draw my blood.  Fun times.  I think we are going to be pretty busy with our weekends up until baby girl is born!

I watched the series finale of Parenthood last night.  It was a great ending, in my opinion.  It makes such a difference when the creators of the show are actually aware that it is their last season and have enough time to prep a proper ending for the show.  So many shows find out mid-season that it will be their last season, so there is no closure for the viewers.  I feel as though they packed A LOT into one hour, but I was still happy with the outcome and future montage that they played to show where everyone ended up in life.  Lots of tears.  I’m not going to post any spoilers here for those of you who may not have seen it yet.  But it’s amazing.  I keep telling myself that the show is not real, and that they are not a real family.  But something inside of me really wants that kind of family!  The love they show to each other seemed so genuine.  And even the anger, since they obviously weren’t perfect.  I just want the same for our little family.  I hope that we can have that.  I hope I’m a good mom.  I really do.  Oh, and the music in the final episode WAS AMAZING.  Here is my favorite song (the intro Bob Dylan song, performed by Rhiannon Giddens and Iron & Wine) is perfection:   http://youtu.be/KHMlZxG339Y

Oh, and a good post to document the tear-factor of the finale:  http://www.vulture.com/2015/01/parenthood-series-finale-cry-cap-season-6-episode-13.html

_____________________________________________________

eating:   Pretty much anything at this point aside from the normal haters on my vomit list.  Still loving the Italian ice and have recently had a small obsession with smoothies, thanks to a good friend at work!  Oh, and LITTLE CAESARS!!  I got this for lunch one day earlier this week because I was craving it – yes, just for me.  I’m craving all the foods I loved as a kid!  We would always order Little Caesars pizza and crazy bread when I was allowed to have friends sleep over.  Such good stuff.  Baby girl will probably end up with a gluten allergy.

pizza

drinking: Smoothies, Squirt (I know, weird, right?), and Pepsi

avoiding: Shrimp.  Chicken.  Avocado.

wearing:  Ugh, I’m getting bigger by the day.  I finally bought one of those belly bands from Target so that I could keep wearing my work pants to work without having to buy new pants.  Bought some more Liz Lange maternity tops on clearance.  Had Mike take some photos this morning of me.

I’m concerned about my legs – they keep cramping up in the middle of the night!  Just my calves, really.  I’m afraid I’m going to have to start wearing those hideous circulation stockings that you see all of the old people wearing.  I need a better option!  Has anyone else had this problem before?

And something weird that I noticed.  My skin was always hit-or-miss before pregnancy.  I wouldn’t say that I had acne, but I would break out every now and then on my face, like a 13 year old.  Since I’ve been pregnant ::knock on wood:: my skin has been great!  Definitely not glowing or anything, but clear for the most part.  Still pale as hell.  I’ve heard that the opposite is supposed to happen.  Especially with having a girl, you’d think my hormone levels would double, hence my skin problems would double.  Not the case!  I’ll take it, though!

Stay tuned for my next post – it would be about our adventures in baby-registering!

Here is what 25 weeks looks like.  PS:  My hair is wet from having just gotten out of the shower, it’s not greasy 🙂

belly photo 1 close up belly photo 3belly photo 2

2 Comments

  1. You look so cute with a little baby belly!!! Love it!!! Omg, I loved the finale. Except when I went to bed with a headache and puffy eyes. Such a good show- and I totally loved the song too!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

