22 Weeks, 6 Days…Still Corny on the Cob

Just a few updates…

I should have started taking Zofran AGES ago.  I thought I’d try to do the “non-medicine” thing and keep my system clear of anything that could harm baby, but that ship has sailed.  I’m not going to jinx it, but I’d like to meet the person who invented this wonderful medicine.  Keep working your magic!

My pregnancy pillow has arrived from Bump Nest!  Even though I didn’t get the polka dot pattern that I really wanted since they were out, I am very please with the Chevron pattern.  Rorschach is also interested in this pillow.  Mike saw it and said, “This is going to be like a third person sleeping with us!  That thing is massive!”  He clearly did not know what to expect when I explained it, even though I did send him a link.  Oh well!  The first night of sleeping with it was a good one!  I’m going to have to mess with it a bit, because my neck hurts a little – I’m not used to having such a firm pillow, so I know that has contributed.  But it’s as wonderful as I thought it would be!

photo 2

photo 3

 

Now if only these terrible leg cramps would disappear!  I guess it is a pregnancy thing.  I wake up in the middle of the night and stretch out, thus pointing my toes.  WORST idea ever.  It never fails, because my right leg consistently cramps up, and I feel as though I have pulled a muscle.  I have to sit there and wait for it to go back to being normal.  WTF.  I have read that it could be dehydration.  Whatever.  I have to pee ALL THE TIME.  If I added more fluids, I would just take up permanent residency in the bathroom.   Also, I did read that it is normal to have leg cramps in the THIRD trimester, which is a club that I am not part of yet.  Seems like all of these symptoms are hitting me a trimester early, which is not cool.  Does that mean I’m going to be free and clear in trimester three and I’m suddenly going to love pregnancy?  DOUBT IT!

Despite what I think I should be eating, my body still craves food that is probably not the best for me.  Like yesterday for example.  My kind mother offered to bring me lunch to work so that I wouldn’t have to go out in the cold if I didn’t already have something.  I had some frozen lunches in the freezer, but did not want them (shocker).  I am the worst.  So I asked her for a cheeseburger, small fry, and small Coke from McDonald’s. A happy meal without the toy, if you will.  Pretty standard.  She comes in with a big cheeseburger from a local pancake house cafe, fries, chicken noodle soup, and what I’m pretty sure was Swanel (cheap-o generic Pepsi for cheap-o restaurants that don’t want to pay for the real thing).  Of course, I thanked her.  But in my head, I was defeated.  I just wanted a McDonald’s cheeseburger!  Baby wants what baby wants.  She told me that I shouldn’t be eating crap like McDonalds.  Ayayayaya.

Speaking of good/ bad food, I left early from work one day last week, as it was blizzarding outside.  A common occurrence when living in the Midwest (why the hell do we still live here?)  Visibility was zero, wind was insane, and I couldn’t see the lines on the expressway.  But all I could think about during the drive was how incredibly hungry I was.  There is a Taco Bell 5 minutes from our house.  Any normal person would have driven straight home after the scary drive I had.  Not me!  Taco Bell it is!  I didn’t care at that point, I figured I could slide my way home on the side streets if I had to.  Best pregnancy lunch ever.  This baby is probably going to be vegan or something insane after all of the terrible foods I am scarfing down.  I know what you’re thinking of the picture below.  “That is easily 2,000 calories on that plate”….and worth every single one of them!  I even took a nap afterwards.   VICTORY!

photo 1

Leave a Reply

