10 weeks – we have a heart beat!

Well, I had the dreaded/ not-so-dreaded first doctor’s appointment today!

I opted to go by myself, since there was a good chance we wouldn’t be able to hear the heart beat at this point anyhow.

So I walk into the office and am immediately super annoyed.  The whole waiting room (small to begin with) was chocked full of people, only two chairs unclaimed, and in between people of course.  I’m sure I’m weird for this, but I usually like sitting on the ends so that I can get up quickly if needed.  Whatever.  I tried to chalk it up to the fact that this was a good sign and that the doctor was in high demand.

I fill out the remainder of my paperwork, and then notice they gave me a flu shot sign-off form.  Um, am I the only one who was told that pregnant women should not be getting flu shots?   DUH.  So I walk up to the receptionist and say, “I’m pregnant, so I’m not going to fill this out, right?”  And she tells me that no, I still need to fill it out completely and then write “DECLINE” at the bottom, but that all doctors are recommending flu shots, even for pregnant ladies.  Whatevs.  I declined that.  There was enough for me to worry about today already.

So, I finally get called in, and met with the nurse first.  She was incredibly nice, so that was a start in the right direction.  Then she gave me a gift bag with some journaling tools, freebies for the baby, etc.  Unexpected!  Then, I had to pee in a cup, as expected.  No problemo.    Then, I made the mistake of asking what was going to go down at this first appointment, since I had heard conflicting reports from other mums.

“You will get a pap smear, and then you will get orders to schedule an ultrasound and for routine blood work”

Ugh, those two phrases:  pap smear and blood work.  CRINGE.

Oh well.  It’s always nice to greet a brand new doctor with the exchange over a pap smear.  Good times.

Here is the best part:  the nurse tells me to strip, and that the doctor will be in shortly.  Shortly = about 30 minutes.  30 minutes are more than enough minutes for me to get my heart racing just THINKING about this pap smear.  I know it sounds stupid, and the whole process is over in like a minute, but I just don’t like random people poking around down there and swabbing me with some random little toothbrush thing.

So in comes the doctor.  I love her immediately.  Very laid back and kind of funny.  “Okay babe, let’s get this hard part out of the way before we talk baby.  We both know you won’t remember anything I said before we get the pap smear out of the way!”   Oh so true.  I don’t even remember what else we talked about before then.  But then it was done.  And I was okay.

Luckily, directly after that, she followed up with a fun activity.  We got to listen for the bebay’s heart!  I already knew this, but she warned me that there was a 50% chance that we wouldn’t be able to hear the heart since it was so early on.   Lucky for both of us, bebay was feeling bouncy today, so after about 30 LONG seconds, she said, “there it is!” and then moved around a bit more to get a better sound.  Oh, I was so happy!  Not like sobbing like you often see in the movies (though maybe I will save that for the ultrasound), but I was extremely happy!  She told me that there is now a less than 3% chance that this could end in miscarriage.  3% is still 3%, but I’m feeling much better about all of this already.  Promptly after that, she got called out to another emergency, and the nurse came in and told me it would be another 30 minutes.  That’s okay, I was still on cloud nine and just opted to stay in the room to go through the little newbie-mom gift bag 🙂

She came back about 30 minutes later, apologized profusely, and went right into where she left off:  foods that I can and cannot eat.  I was half hoping that she would say, “Oh, it’s fine – just eat sandwiches in moderation!”  But she did not.  She said that I could eat Subway if they heated it, first.  So I think Subway is all I can eat now.  (kidding) – She also told me that Oscar Meyer makes nitrate free hot dogs.  I searched the hot dog section for a good 15 minutes at Jewel after my appointment, and no such luck.  Maybe they are a special order?  I WILL FIND THEM – CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

Another glorious thing:  she prescribed me some Zofran – evidently some magical pill that doesn’t make you puke while/ during/ after eating!  I’ve been in good shape today so far, but I still feel like I could sleep for days and be okay.

That’s enough for today!  I’m ready for a nap.

Happy Days!

Leave a Reply

