So, I’m Going to be a Mom.

I am about 7 weeks pregnant right now.  We haven’t told anyone yet, but we are going to have to very soon.

We had a scheduled trip to the wineries in Traverse City for Columbus Day weekend with his parents.  They rented a nice little house on the lake.  You better believe that we are still going.  They have some killer restaurants up there, so hopefully I will be feeling well enough to eat.  But that is likely when we will tell his parents.  Since I won’t be drinking like a fish, as per usual.

A few notes on pregnancy thus far:

The movies, TV, and everything else I can think of have pregnancy ALL WRONG.

They make it seem like all pregnant girls are fat and happy, rarely getting sick, and just love love love food of any type!  Seriously, every movie/ tv show I can remember about someone being pregnant involves the girl stuffing her face without a problem.

Guess what?  Food actually disgusts me right now (which is normal, once I started reading about it).   Everything I once loved makes me gag (for the most part).  And the things that I once loved, I also cannot eat now.  Sandwiches and hot dogs.  Kiss them goodbye during pregnancy.  You better believe that the first delivery my husband will be making to the hospital after the baby is born is hot dogs and Subway.  No joke!

I’ve gotten sick numerous times, but not enough to classify it as Hyperemesis Gravidarium.  I’m not as cool as Duchess Kate.   But for real, taking prenatal vitamins require so much concentration now!  Trying to swallow those bad boys will test your gag reflex like no other.  Disgusting.  I haven’t had to take any time off of work yet, but I’m sure that will happen in the future.  I’ve become far less productive at work though, that is for sure!  Thank God for interns.

I will be happy after we pass over that 12 week mark.  Supposedly, you are supposed to start feeling better after the first trimester.  I don’t buy it!

More pregnancy updates to follow…

Leave a Reply

